Where does Hogwarts Legacy take place?

Where does Hogwarts Legacy take place?

Recently released phenomenon, Hogwarts Legacy, is set in the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. As the name suggests, the game revolves around Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, which is located in Scotland.

Where does Hogwarts Legacy take place, you might think?

Well, in the game, players will take on the role of a newly arrived 5th year student at Hogwarts, which is located in Scotland. Here you’ll attending classes, exploring the school and its grounds, and interacting with other characters in the Wizarding World.

The game will allow you to explore grounds outside of Hogwarts too. The story will also bring you to familiar locations such as Hogsmeade and the Forbidden Forest. Although there are plenty of unfamiliar locations too, which you can spend hours exploring.

Where does Hogwarts Legacy take place in the timeline?

In the game is set in the late 1800s, before the events of the Harry Potter books and films, which are set in the 1990s and early 2000s.

Hogwarts Legacy: Map locations

The game itself it split into regions. 14 to be exact.

  • North Ford Bog
  • Forbidden Forest
  • Hogsmeade Valley
  • North Hogwarts Region
  • South Hogwarts Region
  • Hogwarts Valley
  • Feldcroft Region
  • South Sea Bog
  • Coastal Cavern
  • Poidsear Coast
  • Marunweem Lake
  • Manor Cape
  • Cragcroftshire
  • Clagmar Coast

Each offer exciting challenges, NPC interactions and fantastic beasts.


Check out the Interactive map on mapgenie.io, if you haven’t yet bought the game.

The map is also useful for those, who needs help finding certain quests, chests etc.